Making it Through Tough Financial Times

My husband and I often live beyond our means.  I’m not proud of that fact, but I am proud of the reason why we are doing it.  Eric and I decided very early on that we wanted a Catholic education for our three children, and were willing to sacrifice much in the process – especially our financial “security.”   We live in an area where the public schools are pretty good.  In fact most of our family members have their children in the local public schools and are quite happy with the education that their children are receiving. We wanted our children to see crucifixes in every classroom – to pray throughout the day,  and to have the faith that we try to teach them reinforced by religious studies.  I respect what others have chosen for their children, and as for mine – I have no regrets.

Things are tight.  I have to watch the grocery bill and try to be as frugal as possible to save wherever I can.  I know that I do not walk this path alone.  Many people are in the same boat these days.  Some are worse off – without employment – not knowing how they will pay the house note.  I’ve been there too, and it’s scary!    Somehow, when I place my trust in our loving God, and abandon my financial worries to Him, He always sees us through.

With the experience of living paycheck to paycheck, we have received many gifts.   Living this way has kept us on our knees.  We’ve grown closer to God through having to rely on Him completely – for everything.  We’ve come to realize that our paychecks do not come from our bosses, but that everything we have been given comes from the hands of God Himself.

Living “on the edge” so to speak has also helped us to be more grateful for what God has given to us, because, we are keenly aware that everything could change in the blink of an eye.  For so many people caught in this economic slump, that is exactly what has happened.  Their worlds have been turned upside down in just a pay period or two. I deeply empathize.

“Pray, Hope and Worry,” is a great quote from Padre Pio that I like to hold onto.   I also find strength in this verse from Proverbs chapter 3, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding.” I have these posted in visible places in my house, for times when my trust is waning and my perseverance lame.

When you place your trust in our loving Father, He will not disappoint.  Often times, He comes through at the last minute to test our faith, but He always comes through.  Trust in God is never misplaced.  We also have to remember, that though God is interested in our physical well-being,  He is even more invested in our eternal health.  He will do what He has to do to prepare us for eternity, and sometimes it may be uncomfortable or even painful.  “Be joyful always.  Pray continually.  Give thanks in all circumstances,” (1 Thessalonians 5:18-19) and keep your chin up!  No situation in this life goes on forever.  If things are going well, count your blessings.  Things won’t always be so good.  If things are going badly – great news.  Things will one day be good again!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

