My Husband, My Hero!

I hope that I have not been too preachy or too upbeat lately!  I know that even though the intention may be to inspire, it can be downright annoying.  Bear with me!  I’m sure that a lousy day is just around the corner.  (chuckle!)

My husband is my best friend and hero.  These last few days have really reminded me of just how wonderful he truly is, and how blessed I am to have him in my life.  We did go on a little excursion this past weekend. We spent Saturday and Sunday doing the things we truly love as a couple.  We had quiet, dinners in informal places where we could relax and sample each others’ food.  We visited a Catholic church – a beautifully restored basilica.  Our favorite activity was hiking in places we had never explored.  We visited Clark Creek Natural Area and St. Catherine Wildlife refuge – both in Mississippi.  The two parks were absolutely beautiful, even in the dead of winter.  We only came across two other couples on the trails, so we felt as though we had the whole world to ourselves.

The trails we hiked required much climbing and walking uphill.  I’ve never been good at stairs or inclines, as I have two lazy heart valves and very low blood pressure.  I felt like a ninety year old woman each time we would get to one of those uphill treks.  I would have to take a few steps and rest…take a few steps and rest.  My sweet husband waited patiently, and stretched out his arm for me to grab onto time and time again.  He even honed a walking stick for me out of a tree branch.  We had many laughing moments – he was always the consummate gentleman – always pointing out holes to avoid and the best places to step.  It reminded me of why I love him so much.

As soon as we returned home from our trip, we checked in on our twenty year old who was recovering from the flu in his college dorm.  Once we met up with our other two children, we found that our middle child was coming down with a virus.  Welcome home!  We snapped back into that parenting role very quickly!

Last night, the illness blossomed into a full-blown, nasty stomach bug.  My husband was so attentive to our daughter who ran to the bathroom practically every hour, on the hour, throughout the night.  He even held her hair for her while she heaved and searched her room for a pony tail holder to secure her bangs from her face.

When the children were young, Eric did diapers, runny noses, skinned knees – you name it!  He has always been a “hands on” dad, and an attentive husband.  He helps with the laundry, does dishes and packs school lunches.  I find these things he does to be very handsome and quite manly! When we were a much younger couple, I used to feel jealous of women whose husbands would send them flowers from the florist, surprise them with chocolates or even jewelry!  Those things are all wonderful, but I’ve realized that there is much to be said for everyday – in and out – side by side – HELP.  I’ve come to know that I am very blessed!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Marriage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

