Dreaming of a Get-Away!

It is a rare occasion that my husband and I are able to get out for a date night.  It’s a Extremely rare event when we get an entire night or two away from our three beautiful children.  I think the last time we did that was when our 12-year-old was 2.  We did so one other time when our 19-year-old was 2.  We’ve never gone out of town alone together since our 6-year-old was born… so according to our timeline, we are long overdue!

I’m pondering the notion of an entire weekend  – just me and my beloved.  Hmmm.  We would be able to eat peacefully, without having to remind anyone of table manners or cut anyone’s meat.  We would be able to talk without interruption. We would be able to go where we want to go and do what we want to do when we want to do it.  I’m giddy about the prospects!

Being a parent has been such an incredible blessing in our married life.  Eric and I are keenly aware that each child is a gift from God, and that not all couples are graced with this wonderful gift.  We experienced great difficulty in conceiving our last two children, and thought that each of our kids would surely be the last.  Thankfully, we were wrong.

My husband and I  been at this job of parenting for almost twenty years now.  Most couples find that the rigorous demands of raising children too often doesn’t leave time for spouses to reconnect – to remember why they got married – to relive that special time of togetherness before the children came along.  I think that every married couple needs to schedule regular “date nights” and even an occasional “weekend getaway” to rekindle the love that brought them together.  The sacrament of marriage, given and bound by God is a treasure, just like our children, that merits nurturing and protection.  A strong marriage is the greatest gift that we can give to our children!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

