O Come Let Us Adore Him!

Sound like my title is a bit out of season?  Let me explain.  In the midst of the Superbowl excitement last night, I felt Jesus tugging at my heart.  Our family had constructed a football pool with twenty-five cent squares just to make things more exciting.  The snack foods were, out and we were poised to watch intently for our numbers each quarter.

With some added responsibilities at work recently, I have not been able to get to the  chapel, or to daily mass in a couple of weeks.  You know the saying, “You don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone?”  Well, I suppose I was taking my “Jesus” time for granted, because I found myself really missing Him today.   I knew that the longing I was feeling would not be quelled until I got in my car and drove to the adoration chapel.  Jesus never disappoints. There in the silence, He calmed my busy mind and gave me a renewed sense of joy.

One of the greatest blessings I’ve received in working where I do is that we have a perpetual adoration chapel on campus.  Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament has literally changed my life.  I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.  If you don’t particularly like silence, or can’t sit still for long, that’s o.k.  If you can only stay for a few minutes, then do so.  The graces received, I believe, are cumulative –  no human being can spend time in Christ’s real, physical presence and not be changed.   I promise you that if you make even short visits often enough, you will be hooked.  Jesus is the answer to our world of noise, distractions, constant motion and temptations. “Come to me all who are weary and heavy burdened and I will give you rest.”  (Matthew 11:28)

If you are reading this post, and do not believe in Christ’s real presence in the Eucharist, I encourage you to go to the nearest tabernacle or adoration chapel, and tell the Lord that you are having difficulty in believing this incredible miracle.  Ask Him to help you in your doubt.  I believe that He will do so, just as I have come to believe in His real presence with all my heart.  The Eucharist is the greatest gift we have on all the earth today, as it is the way that Jesus has remained physically with us for nearly 2000 years.  O Come, let us adore Him!

Check out this You Tube video that was also posted on the America Needs Fatima website. It’s pretty incredible.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Uniquely Catholic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

