All of Creation Obeys Him!

Then he got into the boat and his disciples followed him.  Suddenly a furious storm came up on the lake, so that the waves swept over the boat. But Jesus was sleeping.  The disciples went and woke him, saying, ‘Lord, save us! We’re going to drown!’ He replied, “You of little faith, why are you so afraid?” Then he got up and rebuked the winds and the waves, and it was completely calm.  The men were amazed and asked, “What kind of man is this? Even the winds and the waves obey him!” Matthew 8: 23-27

On Monday, Southeast Louisiana was under a wind advisory, of all things!  The wind was really whipping on the playground, cutting right through my heavy jacket.  It wreacked absolute havoc on my hairdo!  On the way home, I could feel the great push of the wind against my minivan.  I had to hold onto the steering wheel tightly to stay in my lane.  The supernatural power of the wind reminded me of the story of Jesus calming the sea in the gospel of Matthew – the thought that the wind, time, the seasons all obey God’s laws – the thought that God is truly in control, and that everything – even the laws of nature –  are subject to His authority.

I saw an incredible program on EWTN over the Christmas holidays.  Unfortunately, due to its title, I’m pretty sure that it will not be aired again until next advent.  It is called “Star of Bethlehem.”  A lawyer who narrated the show and did years of research, theorizes about what made this star stand out to the wisemen.  This is interesting, however, during the process of his research, he uncovered even greater, incredible parallels between astronomy and our Faith.  He concluded that God knew precisely when He would send His son into the world AND that it was all “written in the stars” when the world was created.  He makes pretty amazing hypotheses, and backs them up with some strong evidence.  It’s something you must see to believe!  Those who are into astronomy, or who love to see the meeting of faith and science would really appreciate this program.

If you have some time to do a bit of reading, there is a website that describes everything that is in the video.  My father is a scientist at heart.  When I told him about the program, he taped the show and watched it three times to glean every fascinating fact that he could possibly get from it.  Star gazers, enjoy!

http://www.bethlehemstar.net

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Informational, Scripture Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

