Don’t Be Afraid to Give God All You’ve Got!

Last night, my family attended the vigil mass.  After church, I talked with a sweet, young mother of two children. During the course of our conversation, my heart became saddened.  This beautiful, devoted mom was speaking of mass and the sacraments almost as items on a grocery list, to be checked off once completed. I didn’t know what to say.

There are millions of Catholics who went through Parochial schools in the 1970’s and 1980’s, who were never properly instructed about our Faith.  We didn’t read scripture.  We didn’t learn about apostolic succession and Sacred Tradition.  I am one of those people.

I am so blessed, that for whatever reason, the Lord placed in my heart the desire to know more – to begin exploring the riches of our Faith myself, well into my thirties.  I assure you, it is never too late! I signed up for adult education courses being offered at local Catholic churches, and began devouring books by Scott Hahn, Mother Angelica, Christopher West, and many other well-respected modern-day theologians.  Over the years, my search for knowledge, led me to embrace and cherish the beauty of the Mass, the sacraments and our many rich, Catholic traditions.

Catholicism – Christianity for that matter – is not something we practice on Sundays alone.  We can’t separate our lives into two components – the religious and the secular.  In order to truly experience the great graces and blessings God has intended for each and every one of us, we must integrate the two.  He wants to be a living, breathing part of our everyday.  He wants to be consulted on every decision.  He wants to be the first person we think of when we rise in morning, and the last we think of before going to sleep.  He wants to walk this life with us.  He dwells within us, you know.  Think of that incredible truth!  Wow!  He has so much that He wants to share with us, if we will only let Him in.  Do you know why you and I were created?  To know, to love and to serve him in this life, so that we may be happy with Him for all eternity. (Catechism of the Catholic Church)

Don’t be afraid.  I promise you, that if you give God all you’ve got, you will not be left wanting.  His generosity is never, ever outdone!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

