St. Agatha, Pray for Us.

Today is the feast of St. Agatha.  She was born in Sicily in the 200’s A.D.  It is said that she was born into a wealthy family, and that she decided to dedicate herself entirely to God at a very early age.  As a young woman, she resisted the advances of a Roman prefect.  As it was a time of great persecution for Christians, this leader had her arrested and sent to a house of prostitution, in an effort to change her views on the value of the purity.  There she was tortured, but continued to fight off predators, trusting in God’s great strength to sustain her.  One of tortures she was said to endure was having her breasts cut off.   She is often pictured holding them on a plate, or wrapped in a sheet of fabric stained with blood.

She is the patron saint of nurses.  Sexual abuse survivors and those battling breast cancer invoke her intercession.

Prayer for nurses:

St. Agatha, I ask you to pray with me to Almighty God.   Ask Him to help me to see the face of Christ in all patients I care for today.  Pray that I may be filled with His grace so that I might share His love with them, and assist in their healing, if it so be God’s Will.  Amen.

Prayer for Sexual Abuse Survivors:

Dear Heavenly Father, through the intercession of St. Agatha, virgin and martyr, grant me your healing for the deep hurts that I still carry with me today.  Erase any anger that tarnishes my soul, and help me to forgive my attacker, as St. Agatha forgave her abusers.  Help me to feel your presence when I feel my weakest and most vulnerable.  Help me to trust again.  Give me the great freedom within that comes from a deep faith in You.  Amen.

Prayer for Those Battling Breast Cancer:

Dear God, through the intercession of St. Agatha, your pure and faithful servant, grant me complete and lasting healing from this cancer if it be Your Most Holy Will.  Lord, you know how painful and humiliating this battle can be.  I look to the Blessed Cross, and know that you understand great suffering.  Walk this difficult road with me, Lord.  I cannot do it alone.  I am so afraid.  Carry me, and give me Your strength. Amen.

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, Uniquely Catholic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

