Easy Crockpot Pork Roast

Each year, on the last Saturday in September, my mother’s side of the family meets in Hattiesburg, Mississippi for a reunion.  Mom’s relatives are Southern Baptists.  When we attend these family gatherings, there is always an array of delicious casseroles, one pot meals and desserts.  At the Baptist churches to which they belong, most participate in Wednesday night worship and fellowship dinners, where everyone brings a dish.  Consequently, they have a large repertoire of interesting recipes to share.

Last year, one couple brought a crock pot with a pork roast inside.  I generally make it a practice to go to every pot or pan and take a teaspoon or so of each concoction – just to say that I tried everyone’s contribution.  When I opened the lid of this crock pot, a wonderful smell rose to my nose, but the sauce that it lay in looked strange.  I sampled it, and was sold.  I’ve used this super simple recipe ever since.

Place an unseasoned pork roast in a crock pot/slow cooker.  Pour 1/2 -1/3  bottle of Wish Bone Lite Italian dressing on top of the roast.  Add 1/2 jar of sliced mild banana peppers.  Replace the lid  and cook on low for about 8 hours.  This is a perfect meal to make on a work day – It takes so little time to assemble.  Believe it or not,  it doesn’t seem to be too spicy for children.  This is one of the few things that my kids will eat readily, without coercion.  For those who like the extra bang, you can throw a few banana peppers from the pot onto the sliced pork roast before serving.  Enjoy!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

