The God Box

Last school year, I was part of a teachers’ book club.  One of the selections we chose to read and to discuss was “Redeeming Love” by Francine Rivers. The book was excellent, but difficult for me to get through for personal reasons. I did, however, glean a great concept from the novel that has been very beneficial to me in the area of surrendering  – “The God Box.”

The idea behind the God Box is this.  People (moms in particular) often worry about things in the future, things they may not be able to change – especially in regard to their children.  We are “fixers,” always trying to make things better or correct difficulties in our family members’ lives.  We want so badly to be in control.  When we take the time to do a reality check, we remind ourselves that we have no control, and that Almighty God is in charge of everything.  No matter how difficult a situation might be, it is a comfort to know that God walks with us in our struggles.

When you have a worry, or perhaps something that you have prayed for without answer, you write the petition on a scrap of paper, and deposit it into the God Box. In doing so, you relinquish the problem to the Lord, and consciously make an effort to “let go and let God.” He knows what you truly need, and if the petition is His Will, it will be granted – always in His perfect time.

How often do we give our worries to God and then days, hours, or even moments later take them back?  The physical action of writing down the concern and putting it in God’s box for Him to handle really does help to put things in perspective.  It reminds us to trust in God’s wisdom and providence for our lives.

The box itself doesn’t have to be fancy.  I bought an inexpensive wooden box at a craft store and painted it to match the other items I have on the mantlepiece.  If you prefer your God Box to be less accessible to other eyes, you can conceal it under your bed. I glued a felt pocket in the roof of the box for prayers that God is “working on.”  Periodically, I go through the petitions in the pocket and see if any prayers have been answered.  I say a prayer of thanksgiving, then I move those to the bottom of the box.  It’s amazing to see how the answered prayers stack up over time.   If I have one of those days, when my faith is waning, and I begin to worry again, I light a holy candle and burn it beside the God Box,  with the thought that my prayers are being lifted up to heaven with the heat of the flame. Try it!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

