Parenting, a Path to Holiness

My mom stopped by this morning.  She had already cleaned her house, and run her errands when she showed up on our front door step at 10 a.m.  Of course, half of us were still in our pajamas, and my house was far from being clean.  Cleaning house was on my list of things to do – right after spending some quiet time watching my birds on the feeder!

It’s funny, as I get older, my children can outlast me each day, and even beat the sunrise in the morning.  I remember when my husband and I were dating; we could stay out talking until 1 a.m.  Now I can’t seem to hold my eyes open past 9 p.m.  What has happened to me?  I now like to go to bed early and rise somewhat early as well.  I’m turning into my parents, that’s what!

I rose at 7:30 this morning, hoping to read my bible, sip my coffee in the easy chair and watch the birds come to the feeder, a pleasure that is only possible on Saturday mornings.  Sure enough, I had just settled into the chair, and had not even taken a sip of my coffee yet, when my youngest came padding into the den with his thumb in his mouth and blanket in tow.  He wanted to snuggle.  “So much for alone time,” I sighed.  So much for morning prayer – at least the meditative type.

It turned out to be a real pleasure.  It reminded me of some advice I recently gave a young mother who was stressing about losing sleep at night with her infant being a night owl.  I told her that I used to stress when my first two were up during the night, especially when I had to go to work the next day.  When my third was born, I was thirty-eight.  I found myself treasuring each and every moment with my baby– especially that quiet cuddle time in the middle of the night.  By the time my little man was born, I had discovered that the older you get, the faster time seems to pass.  My other two had grown up entirely too fast!  I had developed a whole new attitude that comes with the wisdom of age – and attitude made all the difference.

This is what I’ve decided to do about that ever-elusive morning meditation time.  Is it possible that now is not the time for meditation?  Perhaps, now is the time to be in “the trenches” (as I like to call it) of parenthood – another extremely valuable path to holiness.

In the blink of an eye, I will be like my mother – my children moved out and living their own lives.  The house will be all too quiet, and there will be more than enough time for contemplative prayer.

One path to holiness is not greater than another.  God places us where He wants us – when He wants us there.  It is our job to use our state in life at the moment to give Him honor, bring others to know Him and to grow in personal holiness.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

