Childlike Faith

I work with children for a living.  I must tell you that it is the greatest blessing imaginable.  I also know that it is a tremendous responsibility.  My students give me great hope for the future of our broken world.  They are hungry to learn about their faith, and are yearning for role models that can show them that it is possible to be both fun and holy – Holiness is not a death sentence, as the world might have us believe.

When given the opportunity, children, even in the awkward, self-conscious pre-teen and teen years will rise to a challenge and really surprise you!  I had over twenty students show up today for a pro-life meeting.  They gave up their recess time to pray for the unborn, the elderly and those not valued by many in our society today.  These children asked repeatedly when the next lunch meeting will be scheduled.  They are so willing to sacrifice for God and for others. (people that they don’t even know and may never meet)  They truly inspire me.

I’ve been teaching the St. Gertrude prayer to my students.  I did not realize the impact it was having, until today.  To begin class, I chose the St. Michael prayer.  After we had concluded, a young lady asked me if we were going to pray that God would release 1.000 souls from purgatory.  (See my recent post)  I asked her if she would like us to do that.  The whole class gave a resounding cheer, “Yes,” so we did.  The children felt the power of prayer that we adults often underestimate.  They have a view of God and of faith that has not totally been clouded by the world yet.  It is beautiful to witness.

I hope that these simple stories bring you some hope today!

“I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from the wise and learned, and revealed them to little children.”  Matthew 11:25

“Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” Matthew 18:3

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

