Our Song

It is my firm belief that God communicates with all of us.  He uses nature, other people, sometimes a voice within, even the radio or media!  Unfortunately, our lives have become so noisy and so busy that we often miss these communications.  We walk around multitasking, and troubleshooting the next problem we have to solve, or contemplating the next thing we have to accomplish!

In order to hear God’s voice when He speaks to us, we have to make a conscious effort to slow our pace, and to remain open.  We have to talk to Him and then Shhh… Listen.

God and I have a song – much like a husband and wife, or boyfriend and girlfriend might have a tune that reminds them of one another.  Once I was driving while praying my heart out over my worries.  Just then, a song by Lonestar entitled, “I’m Already There,” came on the radio.  The words seemed to speak to me – as though it were my Father in heaven soothing my frayed nerves.  “I’m the beat in your heart, I’m the moonlight shining down, I’m the whisper in the wind, and I’ll be there till the end…”   I looked up to the sky through the tears in my eyes and smiled.  “O.K. God, I got it,” I thought to myself.

Ironically, there have been several times when I’ve been “freaked out” that this song has come on the radio – always while I was talking to God, begging for assistance.  The last two times it has happened, I was leaving work to go organize and run retreats for young people. On the first occasion, I was running late and was concerned about beating the school bus packed with students to the convent which would be hosting our day of reflection. On the second occasion, I had been informed that the youth minister would not be able to make it, and that I was going to have to inspire and entertain the children myself – on rather short notice.  On both dates, I was frazzled.  I prayed aloud as I drove to the retreat center.  Then, when I was out of words, I turned on the radio, counting on the music to soothe my nerves.  Incredibly – maybe miraculously –both times, Lonestar’s song was playing.  The words reassured me that God was going ahead of me to the retreat center.  As out of control as I felt at the moment, He was ultimately in control of things.  After belting out those familiar lyrics from the bottom of my diaphragm, I gave it all – the success or failure of the events – to God.  I vowed to be His servant, and asked Him to use me in whatever way that He saw fit.

Of course, the retreats went well, because God was running them!  If I could only remember that each and every day, He is in control.  He loves me and He wants what is best for me.  The best that I could do, as His daughter, is to give all of myself to Him without reserve, and to trust that He truly knows what He is doing!

“Cast all of your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you.”

1 Peter 5:7

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

