Reflection on Mass Readings, Sunday, March 2, 2014

Readings for Sunday, March 2, 2014

UnknownI am admitting that I am not writing this after deep reflection, rather an instant response to the readings today.  Last night I fell asleep praying.  Like millions of Americans, my family seems to live on a wing and a prayer – literally paycheck to paycheck.  We have been unable to save anything. Things have been particularly difficult for us this past year for a lot of reasons.  I went to bed with all of this on my mind.

When I awakened a few minutes before the rest of the family this morning to read the mass readings, I was ever so glad that I did!  We plan to attend a Latin mass today because it is convenient to where we will be meeting family for a Mardi Gras parade.  The readings at the Latin mass are different from the standard ones of the day – I would have missed the message!

#1 God could not forget us ever !

#2 God is our rock and stronghold.  There is no need to be disturbed at all!

#3  I always remember that we will be judged by the Lord in the end, and that we should not judge others, but reading #2 ends with “everyone will receive praise from God.”  What?  Oh wow!  I do so hope that I run the race in a manner worthy of praise in the end.  Hmm.

#4 ‘What are we to eat?’
or ‘What are we to drink?’or ‘What are we to wear?’  (Matthew was reading my mind!)
All these things the pagans seek.
Your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.
But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness,
and all these things will be given you besides.
Do not worry about tomorrow; tomorrow will take care of itself.

I so needed to be reminded of this.  Funny (hard headed I am) that I just had my students memorize this very verse last week.  Hello!

Yesterday, in the Deep South, temperatures reached 70 degrees for the first time since Fall.  All of the sparrows were out chirping and pecking at the grass looking for food.  It reminded me of this beautiful gospel.

OK, test of faith time!

I will put all of my trust in our Great God and march on!

March on people!  March on!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflection on Mass Readings, Sunday, March 2, 2014

  1. A very comforting post! Love the sparrow…

Leave a Reply

