Year of Faith

Two days ago, on October 11, 2012, we began a special chapter in the life of our Church.  Pope Benedict XIV declared this year the Year of Faith.  What is faith?  I asked a few friends and family members how they define it:

*”the grace to believe in what you cannot see”

*”total surrender to God’s Divine Providence”

*”you love God, you believe in Him, you pray” (my seven-year old’s definition)

*”an anchor, an ever-present hope”

*”trusting in the Lord with all your heart”

*a gift from God

Faith is all of these things and so much more!  I am so glad that my parents raised me to have faith in God – in Jesus – because without faith, this life would be so much harder to handle.  Difficulties would be even harder to rise above – obstacles insurmountable. Thank God for the gift of faith!

There is a whole website dedicated to this Year of Faith.  It has an extensive library of information and tools to encourage and enrich us through the upcoming year.  Please take a few minutes to explore it.

You know,  I keep a jar of mustard seed in my kitchen.  Each time I see it, I recall the passage from scripture:  The Lord answered, “If you had faith even as small as a mustard seed, you could say to this mulberry tree, ‘May you be uprooted and thrown into the sea,’ and it would obey you!  (Luke 17:16)  That’s a sobering thought!  As much faith as I believe myself to have, it is still not even as big as the size of those tiny mustard seeds.  It means that I have lots of room to grow!

I’ve brainstormed a list of ways that I can grow in my faith (and help my family to do the same) in the upcoming year:

*pray more as a family – ask for greater faith

*receive the sacraments more often

*read more scripture – not just read it – but meditate upon it

*talk to friends about how God has worked in their lives and share how He has worked in mine

*attend a retreat/go hear an inspirational speaker

*take an adult religious ed class sponsored by the archdiocese

*attend adoration more often

*make a conscious effort to “surrender” all to God (as many times a day as it takes!)

Can you think of other ways we could all better dispose ourselves to the gift of faith this year?

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, evangelization, faith, Faith & Children, Informational, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Year of Faith

  1. I discovered a nifty web app that sends daily chunks of the Catechism, to read through the whole thing in the year. I think that’s a wonderful thing to undertake.

    http://lonelypilgrim.com/2012/10/12/read-the-catechism-in-a-year/

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Hi Dana,

    I love all your suggestions. I want to make the most of this Year of Faith too. My first resolution was to sign up for the daily extracts from the CCC, like Joseph. I’m sure this will be a wonderful opportunity to know, love and understand our Faith better.

    Praying that you receive much grace in this coming year.

    God bless!

  3. I’m completing a certificate course in Catechesis and am aiming to reach out through it. I am definitely going to be talking about my faith more freely and listen even more carefully to the responses.

Leave a Reply

