It Ain’t Easy!

Today hasn’t been a total disaster.  In fact, I had the pleasure and privilege of attending morning mass.  It was an awesome way to start the day!

The rest of it was another story.  It is hard to take when one of your kids is hurting – especially when you feel helpless to do anything to help.  Raising kids is a sure way to keep a parent on his/her knees.

I had a meeting that ran overtime putting me late for picking up my child which in turn made me late to meet the cable man.  He was not at all happy with me when I arrived.  I felt so badly.

While dealing with the disgruntled workman, I had another child telling me repeatedly how hungry he was.  “I’m not superwoman!” I wanted to yell.  Today, I donned my red cape, but when I tried to fly, I came in for a crash landing instead.

Some days are like this as a “Catholic Working Mom” trying hard to balance work, child rearing, prayer and responsibilities – I just noticed that I left my husband off of this list.  Sadly, typical, huh?

I do know that God does not want us mommas running around like decapitated chickens.  How can we feel His presence and His peace when in a constant whirlwind of worries and activity?  How can we show others Jesus if we are grouchy and short with them – or rushing around so much that we don’t even make eye contact?

I think that days like this call for refocusing – a day punctuated by moments of simply recalling that we are in God’s presence – remembering that He is as close to us as the very beating of our hearts – taking every opportunity to simply breathe His Holy Name.

Living in this crazy world, but not of this world is a tremendous challenge.  We can do it with God’s help – We must do it with His help!

BIG Sigh!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, parenting, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

