Reflection for Sunday’s Readings, July 29, 2012

Readings for Sunday, July 29, 2012

Hello to my friends in the Philippines and around the world!  I’m praying for you tonight!

May The Lord bless you and keep you.

May the Lord make his face to shine upon you, and be gracious to you.

May the Lord lift up his countenance upon you, and give you peace.

When studying the readings for this Sunday, I was surprised to find out that Elisha, the great prophet performed a miracle, feeding a hundred people with twenty barley loaves.  It’s strange that as long as I’ve been hearing the Sunday readings in mass, I don’t recall this particular story of Elisha which surely foreshadows Jesus’ miracle of the loaves and the fishes in the New Testament.

Months ago, I began reading the bible daily, as it is my goal to read the whole thing from cover to cover.  I quickly got through the New Testament, then started back at the beginning with the Old Testament.  I got as far as the first chapter of the second book of Kings.  It’s no wonder I didn’t remember Elisha’s food miracle – hadn’t quite gotten there yet.

I have as the header on my wordpress page a photo of a sparrow on a bird feeder.  One of my favorite pastimes is watching the birds come to eat in the early morning hours.  I am amazed by their instinct, their beauty – at the simplicity of their lives.  Truly they do not worry about tomorrow – or even this afternoon – what they shall eat, or with what materials they will build their nests.  It is my goal to have a relationship like this with the Lord – to surrender completely to Him in all things – still working on it:)

In John’s gospel, we see the very compassionate side of Jesus.  He was concerned for the physical needs of those gathered there on the mountainside to see Him.  Miraculously, He multiplied the few measly fish and loaves, and everyone had their fill.  There was food left over.  Jesus was so generous.  He didn’t give them a snack – just enough to get by.  The people ate until they were satisfied.

Isn’t that what Jesus still does for us today?  He gives us His very body in Holy Communion to feed us and fill us with graces and blessings.  It was not enough for Jesus to give us a token of His love  – He gave His whole self on the cross, and gives of Himself completely in the Eucharist even now.  How blessed we are to be able to receive our Savior in this way – no holding back!

So many people in our broken world are hungry – hungry for love,  hungry for truth.  If only they could all see that God is the source of all love and all truth.  Search high and low on this earth, and we will never be completely satisfied – until at last we are in communion with our Maker, God.  “Our hearts are restless until they rest in You, Oh Lord.”  St. Augustine

God the Father shows us that He cares for our spiritual and physical needs in John’s gospel today.   While we are in exile here on this earth, it is through our bodies that we discover God the Creator, we long for Him, and we worship Him. He listens to our prayers for our physical needs.  Personally, I cannot count the number of times, He has provided for me and for my family when we were in a “tight spot,” or helped a love one to get well. I am humbled by His many blessings.

On the other hand, sometimes our prayers for health or material things are not answered in the way that we would like them to be.  When this happens, we can be sure that the God who holds us tenderly in the palm of His hands may be using illness, or suffering to strengthen our souls. Our bodies, which He fashioned in our mother’s wombs are an important part of who we are, however, it is our soul that will live on for all eternity – hopefully in the presence of the Almighty.   Pray, and trust Him to do what is best in every circumstance.

Today, let us sing praise to our Lord of mercy and compassion – of generosity and loving kindness.  Those who rely upon Him are never sent away hungry, but are always satisfied.

I love this song!  Enjoy!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflection for Sunday’s Readings, July 29, 2012

  1. Steven Atwood says:

    Reblogged this on Steven Atwood.

  2. Thank you for this – and the reminder that Christ gives us Himself completely, today and every day! :) What a Saviour we have!

Leave a Reply

