Reflection on the Readings for Sunday, July 8, 2012

Readings for Sunday, July 8

In Mark’s gospel, our poor Jesus is rejected in His own hometown.  Instead of a warm welcome, smiles, hugs and attentive ears, He is met with coldness, questioning, taunting and a big lack of faith.  The gospel states that Jesus was unable to cure but a few people, because of the lack of faith there.  This reiterates for me personally, the importance of trusting in the Lord – in having faith that He will answer my requests for healing/help according to His Will.  If we ask, but don’t have faith, then we can’t be healed.

It also made me think of my own fears about sharing the Good News with those who come into my life.  I am sometimes afraid of how someone might perceive me – a “religious fanatic” or “one of THOSE people.”  If people rejected Jesus, they will surely reject us from time to time.  Without God, we cannot do a darn thing.  Filled with God’s grace, God can use us as instruments to transform our world one person at a time  – beginning with ourselves.  Though we are weak, with God we are made strong.

The whole evangelization/rejection theme posed to us tomorrow reminded me of a short video I saw on Godtube.  It makes a point – although it be a harsh one.  It’s a good visual, however, to remind us to push beyond our fear of rejection.  In sharing the message of Jesus, we may be ridiculed.  Others may turn a deaf ear, BUT maybe they won’t – and another soul could be won for the Lord!?v=WL6YPLNX

 

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in evangelization, faith, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflection on the Readings for Sunday, July 8, 2012

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    Sharing the Good News with others? I sometimes even fear making the sign of the cross when eating out in case someone thinks I am a “religious fanatic” or “one of THOSE people.” Then yesterday we went to the zoo. We stopped halfway through the day for a picnic and I suddenly felt like making a huge visible cross. I don’t know what came over me, maybe a feeling of mischief, a defiance… anyway, I didn’t care what others thought of me.What do their opinions matter? I just enjoyed being me, different and proud to belong to God. I hope that feeling lasts!!

    God bless you and thank you for your post!

Leave a Reply

