Reflection on the first reading from Mass this morning…

Acts 1:  15-17, 20-26

I just wanted to share something I learned in mass this morning.  In the first reading from Acts, Matthias was chosen as a replacement for Judas.  I noticed that the priest was wearing red today, signifying the feast of a martyr.  All of the other apostles had the privilege of walking with Jesus in the flesh.   They got to know Him, learn from Him and love Him.  Matthias would give his very life for a man he never actually met.  How deeply he must have believed.  What courage he had.

This reminded me of a modern day martyr, Archbishop Romero of El Salvador.  I was deeply touched by viewing a movie about his life.  Militants came into the church where He was on the altar, preparing for mass.  With a high powered weapon, they shot up the tabernacle and altar.  The Eucharist, the Body of Christ, went flying in every direction.  The priest got on his hands and knees while the terrorists were still there and began collecting the hosts, consuming some, and tucking the others safely away.  The men continued to shoot.  Another day they came back while Romero was saying mass.  As he raised his arms to elevate the chalice above his head, they shot him in the chest.  He died for Christ.  What a beautiful witness.

Let us ask St. Matthias and Archbishop Romero to pray for us that we may love Christ wholeheartedly – that we may have the courage to defend our faith and defend Him even unto death!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Blessed Sacrament, Catholic, eucharist, Prayer, Saints and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflection on the first reading from Mass this morning…

  1. SR says:

    I love this post. What a witness those who have gone before us are. Such faith and such love for our Lord. When I read things such as this, it always reminds me there is so much I have to improve on. Thanks for that reminder. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

