Detoxing

If you struggle with aches and pains on a daily basis, you are not alone.  For the past few years, I’ve been struggling with a myriad of physical “annoyances.”  I’ve pretty much chalked it up to aging.  I’ve had migraines since puberty, but these other little “joys” have cropped up in recent years – things like restless legs when I try to go to sleep, TMJ (clicking in the jaw when I open my mouth) and teeth grinding at night, joint pain, fatigue, and Reynaud’s syndrome in my fingers.

The thing that absolutely put me over the edge, however, was my latest itching spell.   Insane itching will periodically start without rash or warning on my upper arms.  The urge to scratch is overwhelming.   Nothing soothes the itching except ice packs.  Unfortunately, it is difficult to work, or do much of anything holding ice packs on your arms!

A friend of mine recently told me that she was trying a gluten-free diet in an effort to control her migraines.  Last week I had 4 migraines total, along with itch thing.  In utter desperation, I began doing some internet research on autoimmune response/diseases and diet.  Another friend, a nurse, recommended a YouTube video to me.  I watched it and was truly amazed.  Dr. Terry Wahl was diagnosed with MS, and tried all of the  latest medications and treatments.  Still she remained wheelchair bound, until, she decided to try to help herself through a “Paleolithic” style diet – going back to eating simple, preservative free foods like nuts, berries, fresh vegetables, as well as lean meats.   In just three weeks she began walking with one cane.  By five weeks, she was walking unaided.  She believes herself to be cured.

I’m now on day three of an “allergen free” diet.  I’m attempting to detoxify my body, hoping that my symptoms will improve if I treat it more gently.  This means no gluten/wheat products, no lactose/milk products and no artificial preservatives – at least for awhile, until I find out which potential allergen is the culprit.   This has been tough, as I am a bread and milk lover!  I’ve tried almond milk and gluten-free bread for the first time.  They weren’t bad at all.   It does feel good to know that probably for the first time in my life, I’m really paying attention to what I put into my mouth.  It also feels good to know that I’m giving my body the best fuel possible.

I’ve had lots of conversations with God about it all.  Each time I have a migraine, or restless legs, or itch, I try to remember to “offer it up.”  I’ve told Him that I’m willing to suffer for love of Him if that be His Will.  But what if it’s not His Will?  What if I’ve been inadvertently poisoning myself?  I tell you, if this works, my kids and husband are next!   I do plan to work on them this summer when I’m home more, and can prepare fresh food more easily.  My kids love all of the pre packaged, preservative loaded foods.  It’s all they want to pack for school lunches.

I will let you know in several weeks if I’ve been “cured!”  Here’s the link to the amazing YouTube story I told you about.  Enjoy!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Informational, nutrition/food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Detoxing

  1. ALL FOR! says:

    remember that you didn’t get here overnight, it will take some time to return to “homeostasis.” you will be in my prayers for a complete healing – God’s will.

  2. Thanks for the Youtube link. I was at a seminar for medical and allied health professionals last week on brain function and memory. The seminar was given by a Phd Clinical Psychologist from Boston. His recommendations were much like Dr. Wahl’s. I see the harmful effects of our affluent lifestyle everyday when I go to work. We really need to take the time to be better informed and look after ourselves and our families. In our house, we take fish oil capsules daily and try to steer away from buying packaged, processed foods. It takes more time and money to plan meals that are healthy and can be prepared quickly but it’s worth it. I would be interested to read your progress. Good luck!

    • danardoyle says:

      I’ve actually felt really good today – day 5 of the diet. By reading the labels and being conscious of what I put in my mouth, I’m starting to realize how “junked up” our food has really gotten – loaded with stuff I can’t even pronounce. I’m not sure I want to put that stuff in my body anymore. You’re right, it is costing more, and taking longer to prepare. I hope to get some recipes and a routine established. Thanks for the encouragement!

  3. Shawna says:

    Hi there. I’m a working catholic mom of 4 young ones (10 and under) and our family is on the
    Feingold diet, free of preservatives, artificial colors, flavors and sweeteners. Its made a huge difference for our oldest who has ADD symptoms. Good luck with your journey, I really enjoy your blog! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

