Pepsi Using Aborted Fetuses…

The readings for mass today

From the first reading (2 Chronicles):

All the leading priests and the people likewise were exceedingly unfaithful, following all the abominations of the nations; and they polluted the house of the LORD which he had hallowed in Jerusalem. 

From the gospel (John):

And this is the judgment, that the light has come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.  For every one who does evil hates the light, and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed.
But he who does what is true comes to the light, that it may be clearly seen that his deeds have been wrought in God.

When I read these excerpts from scripture today, I think of how absolutely nothing has changed with humankind over the course of thousands of years.    We don’t learn from our past mistakes.  We don’t use the lessons that history has taught us to make ourselves and our world a better place.  I suppose we just find new twists on old evil ways of living in darkness.  The latest evil newsflash to come across my computer is the word that Pepsi is using aborted fetuses in their research to test and to create flavor enhancers for their products. Please read the full article at this LINK.

Some may argue that the babies are already dead, and would likely be thrown in the trash anyway.  These are Human Beings! Don’t the bodies of the dead deserve dignity and respect.  Our bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit.  Doesn’t that mean anything?

Some may argue that it is better to experiment on dead fetuses instead of experimenting on live animals.  The dead fetuses – babies – have souls.  It is the one, extremely important fact, that separates us from all of God’s other creatures.  We were created in His image and likeness.  I suppose that big business doesn’t believe or care about that.  It’s all about the almighty dollar.

Since it is all about their deep wallets, let us hit them where it hurts – in the pocketbook!  When I told my thirteen year old about Pepsi, she was appalled and vowed not to purchase the product in protest.  Way to go, girl!  Pepsi has many other comparable beverages from which to choose. Then I told her that PepsiCo is the parent company of Frito-Lay, Quaker, Gatorade and Tropicana.  Humph!  Ouch!  Now it hurts! Now it involves greater sacrifice.

Living in the light (Christ) is countercultural.  It involves picking up our crosses, and sometimes even putting down our favorite food/beverages.    If you have ever seen the official Life Decisions International boycott list of companies that support Planned Parenthood, it’s both shocking and overwhelming.  As a family we have stopped supporting certain restaurants and products.  Anytime that there is an alternative, we choose the alternative.

Sometimes, however, as in the case of several prescription and over the counter drugs, there is no generic/alternative. My migraine medication, for example, is on the list.  I have tried the alternatives.  They do not work for me.  When I get a migraine, and it’s left untreated (and sometimes even if it is treated), I’m literally shut down for the day – I cannot function.  Do I do without the medication and miss more work, or cease to be able to function to care for my family?  It’s a hard question.

When I think of our world in darkness,  I think, “Run to the light, Carol Ann!” (Poltergeist, the movie)  Let us all run to the Light – our beautiful, merciful, loving, wise, just Jesus.  In Him, we place all our hope!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in pro life, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pepsi Using Aborted Fetuses…

  1. Suzette says:

    Thank you for being here. I just found out about Pepsi and the other companies and it is a hard thing to do to give up certain foods that I like and eat all the time. But I also am Catholic and very much opposed to abortion. I believe when we allowed abortion in this country, we lost our way. We used to be a God-fearing nation, but now we flaunt God’s laws and the absolute worst one we ignore is “Thou shalt not kill.” I will boycott those companies that are exploiting aborted fetuses and I hope that others will too. God forgive us and help us all.

Leave a Reply

