Reflection on Today’s Gospel, Feb. 28th

Matthew 6: 7-15

Our Father

Father, Daddy, protector, safety, provider, strong, all-knowing, love – I’m so thankful that I had a good earthly Father, Lord, so that I think of you in good terms.  I know that not everyone has been so blessed.

Who art in heaven

I look forward to all the surprises and beauty you have planned for me to enjoy with You in heaven.  I know that you are not far away in heaven, however, but right here with me now – and everywhere I go.  Thank you for always being there.

Hallowed be Thy Name 

I never tire of adoring You whether that be in the chapel, when I receive You in holy communion, when I sing praise and worship songs, or when I admire your handiwork.  You are amazing, God.

Thy Kingdom Come

Somedays I wish you’d come and save us from the world we live in – we’ve grown so far away from “Your kingdom.”  I pray that one day your kingdom will prevail on earth and there will be no more evil.

Thy Will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

Keep me out of Your way, Lord.  Take all that I have and all that I am, and use me to accomplish Your Will, and Yours alone.

Give us this day, our daily bread

Help me, Father, to trust that You will provide all that we need – not necessarily what we want – but what we need.  I know that You love me and want what is best for me eternally.  Please give me all that I require today, and help me not to be anxious about tomorrow.

and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us.

I really do want to forgive those who have hurt me.  I don’t want to be a person ruled by anger and by grudges.  Help me to forgive completely.  Please, be merciful to me, a dreadful sinner.

Lead us not into temptation

It is so hard to live in this world and yet not be part of this world.  There are temptations and trappings around every corner.  I want to keep my eyes focused on You alone.  I want to keep my mind on the things of heaven.  Help me.  When I begin to go down the wrong path, send my guardian angel to give me a nudge and set me aright again.

but deliver us from evil.

Lord, please don’t ever let me be overcome by the devil.  Always be my strength and my shield.

Amen.

It is so.  I believein You!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflection on Today’s Gospel, Feb. 28th

  1. Molly says:

    I love what you did here….Great Post!

Leave a Reply

