My Plans for Lent

I’ve been giving this a lot of thought – “What should I do to make lent special?”  I don’t want to simply go through the motions over the next forty days and not be any better/different at Easter.  Giving up chocolate, for me, would be a sacrifice, but would it help me to grow in holiness?  Hmmm.

What are some practices/spiritual practices that will make me a better person or help me to grow closer to the Lord?

Brainstorming:

fasting on Wednesdays and Fridays as Mother Mary requested in her Medjugorje messages** reading scripture more often – more prayerfully – meditating upon it**doing more acts of kindness for others**spending more time in adoration or at daily mass**praying the rosary as a family/reading bible stories together**reading a good spiritual book**eating more simply – trying dishes popular in less affluent countries**pinching pennies at the store, and putting the savings in the poor box**visiting my elderly grandmother more often**working on getting my children (and myself) to pick up after themselves better so that our home may be more serene

I think I’m going to type up a checklist for myself and do at least one of these practices a day.  Then, hopefully & prayerfully, I will be a better servant of God after these 40 days have passed!

What are your plans for lent?  I’d love to hear your ideas!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Lent, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

