Reflection on Sunday’s Gospel: Mark 1: 29-39

“Rising very early before dawn, he left
and went off to a deserted place, where he prayed.”

After reading and reflecting on tomorrow’s gospel, the line that jumped out at me (as a very busy momma) is the one above.  Today, I tutored, took two boys to the doctor, grocery shopped, “glue sticked” 45 cutouts, rolled and baked 90 heart-shaped sugar cookies, ran to the drugstore, made dinner and dropped off a car to be repaired.  Thankfully, my husband cleaned the bathrooms for me today, or they’d still be gross!

Jesus was very busy in this passage of Mark’s gospel.  He was healing, being swamped by people wanting things of Him -  traveling & preaching in between all that!  He models for us the importance – NO- NECESSITY – of withdrawing from it all for a time to spend time with God alone.

We must be careful to build our days around prayer – not build prayer around our days.  Let’s face it, life travels at such a swift pace nowadays!  If we wait to have time to pray, it won’t happen.  Punctuating the day with prayer – at rising, at lunch and at retiring – and any other time in between – sure does help one to stay at peace despite the world wind of activity.  It helps us to keep our “eyes on Jesus!

Enjoy this video!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Christian Music, Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

