A Funny Story about a Dumb Teen

I’ve got a silly story to tell you about something very stupid that a teenager did.

Gotcha!  I would never post about another “dumb teen.”   The dumb teen I’m talking about is me – when I was preparing to make my confirmation.

While preparing for this wonderful sacrament, I did not take my instructor’s assignment seriously.  The assignment was to do some research and choose a saint name to be our confirmation name.  My friend and I decided that we didn’t want a boring old saint’s name.  We wanted a cool name.  If we were going to get to pick our “new names”, well then, we would do things our way!  Dummy Dumbo!

I chose Hilary – after my favorite nurse soap opera star on the Guiding Light.  My friend chose Alexis.  THEN, we went to the library to look at the very large book of saints. With enough searching, we were actually able to find a  “St. Hilary and a St. Alexis.” We were so happy to find their names on the “great big roll call” of saints, that we paid little attention to their stories.  The joke, of course was on me – St. Hilary was a dude!

Why do I tell you this silly story?  Well, today is Friday the 13th AND the feast of St. Hilary of Poitiers.   I’m sure that St. Hilary looks down upon my and intercedes for me. For this I am grateful!  I regret choosing him, however, because not much is known about him.  He was a bishop.  He fought against heresy.  He did like to write (like myself), and he is the patron saint invoked against snake bites.

If I had to choose again, I would probably choose a saint for whom I felt I had more in common – someone I could really relate to – someone who I could talk to on a regular basis – in heaven that is.  This is what I advise my teen students to do when contemplating a confirmation name.  I do hope they choose more wisely than I did!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, Saints, Uniquely Catholic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Funny Story about a Dumb Teen

  1. BethJanMarie says:

    What a cute story! That reminds me of my Confirmation Saint story. I chose St. Ursula, because it was an unusual name and I didn’t want to be one of dozens of Theresa’s. But also because she was suppose to be a teacher who gave her life for her young students. I loved that she was a teacher AND a herorine. Well, the funny thing is, earlier this year I wanted to do a blog post on her life and when I looked her up, I found that she has been de-Sainted! Seems there was not enough proof that she ever actually lived. So now, I guess I am Saint-less! I guess I can just chose a new one. I pick St. Therese.

    Thanks for commenting on my blog too! No I’ve never been to that church pictured on my post. It was just the most beautiful one I saw on google images. I live in Utah. God Bless!

    • danardoyle says:

      This is so funny! De-sainted! Oh my goodness!!! I bet one day, you’ll be surprised to meet Ursula when you get to heaven!
      The church in your blog post is indeed a beautiful church. My daughter was baptized there. We moved about an hour and a half from the church, so we no longer attend there unless we’re in downtown New Orleans – once or twice a year. They have the Latin mass there. At Mardi Gras time, in a few weeks, we plan to pay Historic St. Patrick Church a visit!

  2. You chose well and you chose wisely. St Hilary left us a great lesson about the Holy Spirit.

    People were told about God, the Father, the Creator, and Jesus, His Son, our Saviour. But the Holy Spirit was (and is) less understood. He has no title. Just the Holy Spirit. He appears as a dove In Christ’s Baptism and as flames at Pentecost.

    It was St Hilary of Poitiers, a Bishop in the 3rd Century AD, who first described the Holy Spirit as ‘the gift’.

    He is the gift given to us by God after Jesus ascended into Heaven. He is the very Spirit of God Himself. His very soul come back to us on earth to dwell within us and to help us in our Christian life.

    That’s why He is sometimes referred to as the Helper, the Counselor, God’s own Being living within us.

    God bless.

  3. Sharon says:

    I’m sure many teenagers do the same thing. One girl in my son’s confirmation group chose Blessed Kateri Tekawitha because she thought she had a cool-sounding name. (And many sisters have male names, too; we had a lovely sister in our parish whose name was Sister Mary Vincent. I don’t think anyone found that the least bit odd.)

    I’ve heard of people changing their saints’ names later in life when they’ve had more time to discover who they really have a lot in common with, or one whom they’ve grown to love. I’m sure you wouldn’t hurt St. Hilary’s feelings if you did that; ;) although Victor does offer some wonderful insights about him.

    Have a great weekend!

    • danardoyle says:

      Thank you for sharing these insights. I think I’ll stick with Hilary. I wouldn’t want to “diss” him. I actually look forward to meeting him in heaven one day (hopefully). Then I can learn all about him. You have a great weekend too!

  4. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    What a great story and I love Victor’s comment too. It’s funny how sometimes things work out OK even though we act in ignorance. Yes, don’t reject poor St Hiliary. I bet he’s been praying hard for you all these years!

    I don’t actually have a confirmation saint. I entered the Church as an adult and it was never suggested I choose a name. I didn’t even know of this custom… But it’s not too late. I will take my time thinking…

  5. littlesoul2 says:

    Hi Dana, this post made me laugh. I was one of those “dummies” who did not choose wisely when Confirmation came around. I decided to take the name of my best friend at the time, Jean, who was Jewish.

    When I came to my senses in my 20′s, I regretted that I hadn’t chosen more thoughtfully. But one day, I looked up Jean in our big family bible, and learned that it is the feminine derivative of John.

    I was delighted, because as an OCDS, I have a great love for St. John of the Cross, and my favorite gospel (and apostle) is John. Glad you are sticking with S. Hilary, because God has a way of making it all work out in the end! : )

Leave a Reply

