A Newsletter for “Friends of Padre Pio”

Today, I stumbled upon a monthly newsletter based on Padre Pio’s famous saying (that I personally cling to like a vine on a tree) – “Pray, Hope and Don’t Worry.”  I’m excited!  I’ve read a few of the books about him, and have seen his biographical movie.

He became a friend of mine when my son was a toddler.  Our church had a large, life-sized Italian statue of Pio in the candle room.  When my little man was going through a very active stage, he and I spent a lot of time in that candle room during mass.  I knew very little about Padre Pio at the time.  A parishioner would leave prayer cards in the room printed with the beautiful “Stay With Me” prayer written by Padre Pio.  I was so moved by the heartfelt outpouring in the prayer that I decided that I must get to know more about this mysterious monk.

Since that time, I began talking to Pio as a friend, asking him to pray for me and for my family.  He had so many special gifts, and yet he remained so humble.  Recently, upon visiting the offices of our parish priests, I noticed that both of our priests have pictures of Pio hanging on the walls in their offices – surely a good sign to me, a visitor!  Pio loved Jesus with his whole being, had great devotion to the Blessed Mother and had tremendous respect and love for Christ present in the Eucharist.

The other REALLY cool thing about Pio is that he is an incorruptible.  He died in 1968.  His body was exhumed a few years ago, and found to be in remarkable condition – as though he has just died the day before!

If you love Padre Pio too, be sure to visit this link for the Padre Pio Devotions January Newsletter.  Enjoy!

Stay With Me Prayer:

Stay with me, Lord, for it is necessary to have You present so that I do not forget You. You know how easily I abandon You.

Stay with me, Lord, because I am weak and I need Your strength, that I may not fall so often.

Stay with me, Lord, for You are my life, and without You, I am without fervor.

Stay with me, Lord, for You are my light, and without You, I am in darkness.

Stay with me, Lord, to show me Your will.

Stay with me, Lord, so that I hear Your voice and follow You.

Stay with me, Lord, for I desire to love You very much, and always be in Your company.

Stay with me, Lord, if You wish me to be faithful to You.

Stay with me, Lord, for as poor as my soul is, I wish it to be a place of consolation for You, a nest of Love.

Stay with me, Jesus, for it is getting late and the day is coming to a close, and life passes, death, judgement, eternity approaches. It is necessary to renew my strength, so that I will not stop along the way and for that, I need You. It is getting late and death approaches. I fear the darkness, the temptations, the dryness, the cross, the sorrows. O how I need You, my Jesus, in this night of exile!

Stay with me tonight, Jesus, in life with all its dangers, I need You.

Let me recognize You as Your disciples did at the breaking of bread, so that the Eucharistic Communion be the light which disperses the darkness, the force which sustains me, the unique joy of my heart.

Stay with me, Lord, because at the hour of my death, I want to remain united to You, if not by Communion, at least by grace and love.

Stay with me, Jesus, I do not ask for divine consolation, because I do not merit it, but, the gift of Your Presence, oh yes, I ask this of You!

Stay with me, Lord, for it is You alone I look for. Your Love, Your Grace, Your Will, Your Heart, Your Spirit, because I love You and ask no other reward but to love You more and more.

With a firm love, I will love You with all my heart while on earth and continue to love You perfectly during all eternity.

Amen

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, eucharist, faith, Informational, Prayer, Saints and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Newsletter for “Friends of Padre Pio”

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    My son Callum took St Pio as his confirmation saint some years ago. He is one of our ‘family saints’. I’ve never seen these photos before and I didn’t realise he is an incorruptible. I need to do some more recent reading! Do you know if his body was exhumed at the time of his canonisation? I will follow the link and find out more.

    God bless.

  2. Elizabeth Sintes says:

    Dana, You have made my day! I used to pray that prayer a long time ago and I lost it. You are such an inspirition even to a great grandmother like me. I share it with my granddaughter in North Carolina. She is expecting her 4th child in January. I first received that prayer from Father Miles in
    Kenner. May Jesus and Mary watch over you and your family

  3. danardoyle says:

    I believe that it was around that time – just a couple of years ago! I wonder why some saints’ bodies decay, and some do not??? I knew he was special!

  4. Elizabeth Sintes says:

    I lived in Jefferson all my life but my oldest daughter asked me to live with them in North Carolina,so we were able to sell our house in one week then I knewGod wanted me to go. But I did have my Suzie and Nicole and of course Ronnie here but we went to NC. We come home often.
    Suzie had given me your sight and I have enjoyed it ever since. You are such an inspirition,Love Mere Sintes

Leave a Reply

