The Moon With Borrowed Light

This morning, in reading “Magnificat,” I came across these words that really spoke to me, “The moon with borrowed light gives witness to the sun…”

I love song!  I love poetry!  I love the play between words – analogies, similes, and the like.  These words really resounded in my head and in my heart.  I supposed that is what they were composed to do!

As a former fourth-grade science teacher, I taught all about the sun, moon and the planets.  Of course, we know that the moon has no light of its own.  We only see it, because it reflects the light of the sun, the center of our solar system.  When it is in its full phase, fully reflecting the sun’s light – unencumbered by the shadow of the earth, it is a magnificent sight to behold!  Its witness to the power and energy of the sun is “phenomenal.” (to coin the phrase of one of my favorite administrators:) )

Oh, if only we could be like the beautiful full moon – allowing the Son to completely illuminate us.  We could be striking witnesses to the radiance, the love, the mercy – the power of the Son of God.

Let us pray today, that we who are without light of our own accord, may truly invite the child Jesus into our hearts – to fill us –  to bathe us in His great light, so that we may shine – bringing His radiance to a world enshrouded in darkness.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in evangelization, faith, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

