Sweet Stillness of Morning

Before the birds begin to herald the coming of the sun-

Before the alarm clock and the dog-

I lay in wonder of the sweet, sweet stillness of morning.

I relish the coolness of the air and crispness of the sheets.

I hear only the soft hum of the fan

And the calm, deep breathing of a loved one dreaming.

It’s just You and me, God – just You and me.

I feel Your warm and mighty presence in that stillness.

I am embraced by Your peace and wrapped in Your love.

How I wish the darkness and silence would remain.

How I wish that it is here that I could stay.

Keenly aware of Your presence – Your closeness-

There in my room -in the beating of my own heart-

In every breath I take.

But the birds have begun to sing their beautiful songs now to welcome the sun.

The silence is broken-

Until I find myself in those early morning hours once again.

There I will seek You and rest in You.

Until then, I beg You to come with me into my day.

Let me feel Your presence in spite of the noise and activity.

Fill me with Your joy and love.

Fill me with You.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in adoration, I Saw God Today, Inspirational and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Stillness of Morning

  1. Missie Noel says:

    Dana,
    This is so beautiful! I wish you could print all posts and make a book….I would be first in line! :)

Leave a Reply

