The “Keeper of My Heart”

The Keeper of my heart -

I so long to see His face!

Beautiful, strong and rough -

I do yearn for His embrace.

His eyes – deep and tender -

They see to my very soul,

And set it all ablaze.

They conform me to His mold.

Humbled and in wonder,

I sit at His precious feet,

Wanting to soothe His scars,

And comfort Him so sweet.

How I love this Jesus!

My savior, my closest friend-

Forever by my side,

In a love that’s without end.

Jesus entered a village
where a woman whose name was Martha welcomed him.
She had a sister named Mary
who sat beside the Lord at his feet listening to him speak.
Martha, burdened with much serving, came to him and said,
“Lord, do you not care
that my sister has left me by myself to do the serving?
Tell her to help me.”
The Lord said to her in reply,
“Martha, Martha, you are anxious and worried about many things.
There is need of only one thing.
Mary has chosen the better part
and it will not be taken from her.”  Luke 10: 38-42

As I meditated upon today’s readings on USCCB, I came across this alternative gospel reading.  This is one of my favorites!  It really speaks to me.  Undoubtedly, I do have a lot of Mary in me – the part that enjoys going to adoration,  sitting in an empty church staring up at the crucifix, or even reading the bible and thinking about it.  I must admit, however, that I tend to lean to the Martha side an awful lot –  the type A personality part that can’t rest until the house is picked up, the clothes hung, the dishes put away – my post written!

The beautiful “Restless” song that I posted yesterday keeps replaying in my mind.  I love the way that Audrey Assad calls Jesus, “The Keeper of my Heart.”  I borrowed that line for my poem, because it captures my feeling for Jesus so well. He is my heart.  It is Him that I live for – Him I long to see.  I yearn to be in His presence.  I yearn to be soothed by Him – to feel the completeness of His faithful Love.  In today’s gospel, I could easily picture myself as each of the two women in the story.  I want so much to be Mary – to choose the better part – that is offered to you and to me so lovingly – so generously in Jesus Christ.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, poetry, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The “Keeper of My Heart”

  1. Arafea says:

    I LOVE this post! It is so sweet, and the poem is lovely. I also love Audrey Assad; the way she says things is so insightful. Thank you!

  2. pattyabr says:

    I always feel bad that Martha gets chastised in this reading. The Martha’s of this world keep thngs running along that others take for granted. Martha loves Jesus deeply just as much as her sister Mary. Her error is that she complains about it. Who knows? Maybe she was joking in a loving way when she said it? Maybe Jesus’ response was a loving jokeful reply? just like a brother? I would like to think of it in that light.

Leave a Reply

