Idolization, a Real Danger

I’ve been very upset by all that has taken place in the last few months with regard to Fr. John Corapi.  For those of you who are unfamiliar with him, he is a man who had a very sinful past, but through the prayers of his mother, had a dramatic conversion and became a priest.  He had a show that aired on EWTN on Saturday nights.  I would tune in weekly to be educated and inspired.  He was seemingly a very knowledgeable priest, passionate about the Catholic Faith and a most charismatic speaker.  He was such a beloved speaker that he traveled the country and preached to packed churches and auditoriums.

I’m not going to make any judgments here.  If you want to hear the announcement he recently made about leaving the priesthood, you may check out his website:  Frcorapi.com and click on the picture in the center of the page.  There was a good article that was posted to a local priest’s page today discussing the accusations and controversy.  I’m posting that link here.

The whole thing is very sad to me – another black eye for the Catholic Church – another reason for people to stay away.   But it’s not a reason at all!  There is no doubt that we are under attack by very evil forces.  Jesus promised, however, that the church He began would not succumb to the likes of the devil, but would ultimately triumph. We must persevere – and put our trust in Him!  We must also pray for our priests faithfully.

We have to be so careful not to idolize people – from movie stars to millionaires to priests.  When we put people, like the amazing Fr. Corapi, on a pedestal, we take the focus off of God.  I admit, I was really taken by his deep voice, his courage in teaching the Truth – and his ability to keep my attention.  I was very touched by his conversion story.  I didn’t think that he would ever step down from his priestly duties.  I didn’t think that he would disappoint me, but he did.

By virtue of their ordination, God works through priests to administer the sacraments.  The priest stands on the altar in “Persona Christi” – in the person of Christ.  And yet, he is not Christ.  He is fully human.  We cannot idolize human beings.  “I am the Lord your God.  You shall have no other gods besides Me.”  (Exodus 20: 2-3)  We must keep the Lord’s commandment.  God is the only one who will never let us down.  Human beings, because of our inclination to sin, will inevitably disappoint.

Let us pray for John Corapi.  He preached Truth for twenty years.  He knows it, so let’s pray that Truth will ultimately win out in his spiritual struggle.  Let us pray for  priests, religious, married couples, single and consecrated that we will all have the courage and grace to faithfully live out our vocations for love of our Loving God.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

