My Soul Thirsts

O God, You are my God;
Early will I seek You;
My soul thirsts for You;
My flesh longs for You
In the dry and thirsty land
Where there is no water.
So I have looked for You
in the Sanctuary,
To see Your power and
Your glory. (Psalm 63:1-2)

This morning, I looked out the window and saw the most wonderful thing – rain!   Just as though there had been a Sasquatch sighting in my yard, I leapt out of my chair to check it out!  I stood on the porch for several minutes, just taking it all in.  The gentle breeze, the soft rumble of thunder, the pitter patter of rain drops were so soothing.  I had taken rain for granted.  I didn’t realize that I had missed it so much.

I am a photo sensitive person.  The lack of natural light – especially if it lasts for days –  really affects my mood.  I’ve discovered that the opposite is true as well.  It has been months since we’ve had a substantial rain here in Louisiana.  The parchness that has ensued is equally depressing.  Without rain, plant and animal life suffers.

As spiritual beings, we react to our environment as well.  If we get enough nourishing God time, we prosper and grow.  If we are without that centering God time, we become crisp and fragile in the heat of the sun.  Jesus modeled the importance of being disciplined in our prayer life – of quiet communion with God.  ” Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where He prayed.”  (Mark 1 :35)  I know I need to work on this myself.  I’m still far to influenced by my feelings.  “I don’t FEEL like it now -” not good

I like what Psalm 63 says about seeking God in the morning.  The hush of the morning is the perfect time to spend with the Father, and to be filled.  It’s a great time – just as the day is beginning – to show God that we put Him first, before our obligations of the day take over.

If we don’t pull up to the “gas station” so to speak, we putter out when faced with the challenges of this sometimes brutal life.  If we seek God first, and love Him foremost, He will wrap us in a bubble of His grace, allowing us to bounce back from life’s struggles more quickly.  His grace also insulates our souls, so that crises then have the power to bring us closer to Him, instead of tearing us away.

Find sometime to experience the coolness and comfort of Him who provides the rain for the earth, and the nourishment for our souls.  He loves us, and wants to fill our lives with grace.   Because He loves us all, He gives us free will.  God won’t force His grace upon us.  We have to be open to receive it.  How do we become opened to grace?  Through prayer.  It’s that simple! I hope you have a blessed, grace-filled day!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

