The (Not So Merry) Month of May

I want to preface my “lament” by saying that May is really one of my favorite months.  Two of my beautiful children were born in May, making it incredibly special to me.  In the fifth month, we celebrate Mother’s Day.  I love this special holiday, because I have truly been blessed with a wonderful mom. I also thank God for the gift of my own motherhood – a real privilege!  May also happens to be the month we celebrate Mother Mary, our mother in heaven – a mother who is perfect when we, as earthly mothers cannot be.  As a teacher, I love May, because we get out of school for the summer  – a welcomed change of pace!  It’s a month of unbridled celebration, and a month of utter fatigue; hence, this ode to the “not so merry” month of May:

May, she is deceiving.

Don’t you go believing

The promises this month makes -

Of blooms and holidays

Of sunshine and warm rays -

Her days are too much to take!

Running here, running there,

Evening sunlight to spare,

She works me until I drop!

For graduates and moms -

For parties and for proms -

I do clean and I do shop.

It is her that I dread,

For I can’t get ahead,

Or keep up with her fast pace.

How will I ever last

Till her 30 days pass

But for Almighty God’s Grace.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The (Not So Merry) Month of May

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Hi danardoyle. Mary has so many titles but the one I like best is the more informal Mother Mary which you have used in your post. I feel so close to her when I call her this as it reminds me of how she is a mother to all of us. I can just imagine her hugging me close and listening to all my problems. Happy Mother’s Day!

    • Sue Elvis says:

      I did have a beautiful Mother’s Day! I was thoroughly spoilt by my family.

      I love how you can reply to each comment in order. My comments and replies are all mixed up and you have to do a lot of looking to see if there was a response to a comment. Good system!

  2. RAnn says:

    Welcome to the Catholic Blog Directory. I’d like to invite you to participate in Sunday Snippets–A Catholic Carnival which is a weekly gathering of Catholic Bloggers who share their posts with each other. This week’s edition is at http://rannthisthat.blogspot.com/2011/05/sunday-snippets-catholic-carnival.html

Leave a Reply

