Book Read

I’m excited.  Tonight I’m attending the first evening of a Lenten book read at my church.  I’m already in the process of reading two other books – why begin another?  With a facilitator/instructor leading the study, I will have someone whom I respect to be accountable to – that’s always been good motivator for me.  I purchased the book just yesterday, and had to have the first 65 pages read by tonight.  Not a problem!

This kind of book is right up my alley!  I love reading about other people’s lives, because I’m basically a nosy person!  The title of this book is “The Life of Faustina Kowalska the Authorized Biography” by Sister Sophia Michalenko.  There are about nine chapters revealing all kinds of “up close and personal” information about the Polish nun who had mystical visions of Christ.  It was to Sr. Faustina that Jesus gave His message of Divine Mercy.  The Lord asked her to have an image painted of Him with the words, “Jesus, I Trust in You,” printed at the bottom.  He also asked that the Church set aside the Sunday following Easter as a special feast, Divine Mercy Sunday.  In this special  image, Jesus has two rays coming forth from His chest.  The white ray stands for the water which cleanses the soul (as in baptism) and the red ray represents Christ’s blood which redeems us.

I have already read “The Diary of Sister Maria Faustina Kowalska.” It was a long (692 pg.), tedious read for me.  The book encompasses three notebooks that the nun kept, and diligently recounts every conversation she had with Jesus.  It’s fascinating to read all of His responses to her fears, and the requests that Our Lord makes of this humble, obedient woman.  My copy is underlined, highlighted and starred!  One of the quotes from the diary that I particularly like and often re-read is as follows:  (Jesus) “The greater the sinner, the greater right he has to My mercy.  My mercy is confirmed in every work of My hands.  He who trusts in My mercy will not perish, for all his affairs are Mine, and his enemies will be shattered at the base of My footstool.”

I will let you know my thoughts on the book, as I read and go to the sharing sessions each Thursday.  I’m thrilled by the opportunity to grow in faith and in knowledge of God and His unfathomable mercy.  I wish the same for you, my friends!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in forgiveness, Lent, Saints and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

