Simple Sunday Pleasures

This past weekend, the weather was glorious here in Southeast Louisiana.  On Sunday, my brother-in-law and his wife brought a bag of dollar store goodies to our weekly, Sunday, Doyle family get together.  After lunch, most of the adults retired to the living room couches, while the children began to “bounce off of the walls”, itching to go outside and play.  For the first time in months, the temperature was warm enough for relaxing in the backyard.  The fresh air was just grand!

This magical bag was filled with things like kites, bubbles and water guns.  The children shed their jackets, and ran around in the sunshine.  It was so wonderful to see such simple pleasures bring smiles to their little faces.  Simple pleasures…gotta love ‘em!

My brother-in-law is a cancer survivor.  He is in his second period of remission. For nearly a year, he traveled once a month by plane to the National Cancer Institute in Washington D.C.  for experimental treatments.  Thankfully, the medication he received has given him another shot at life, and enabled he and his wife to have a second child – a handsome, good-natured little boy.

The experience changed him.  While he has always been a fun-loving individual, I believe the cancer has given him a new perspective on life.  He no longer worries about the trivial.  He lives each day as though it were his last.  This has made him a great father and a much-loved uncle.  On Saturday, he took his children, and one of mine to a Mardi Gras open house complete with floats, music, face painting and food.  Then he brought the kids to the New Orleans Museum of Art.   Two field trips in one day with three children!   This is something I would never attempt by myself.  Thanks to Uncle Dave, the kids don’t miss much!  He completely amazes me.

I want so badly to take his lead in life – not to sweat the small stuff – to take chances – to play with my children more.  He could teach us all a thing or two about life.  David, you’re a gift from God and an inspiration!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, Inspirational and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple Sunday Pleasures

  1. The roof of the rabbit shed was flat and in summer we got to lay up there and look at the stars.

Leave a Reply

