Learning Through Music

I was not a great student – until things began to really click for me in college.  It took me awhile to learn what worked best for me in the way of studying.  Over the years, I began to notice that anything put to music was easy for me to remember.  I could have been a contestant on “Name that Tune”, a popular game show in the 1970′s – just a note or two would get my brain rolling.

It is the same for my students, who are inspired and driven by the power of music.  If you have younger children at home, you might try these silly tunes to help them remember the books of the Old Testament and the names of the twelve apostles.  You can do this yourself with any of the areas of our Faith that you want your child to remember – the corporal works of mercy, the seven sacraments, the gifts of the Holy Spirit…Pick a simple, familiar tune, and allow the Spirit to inspire you!

The Historical Books (to the tune of “Doe, Rae, Me”)

Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus

Numbers, Deuteronomy, Boom, Boom, Boom

Joshua, Judges, Ruth my friend

First and second Samuel

First and second books of Kings

First and second *Chroni-Kells

Ezra, Nehemiah, Tobit

Judith, Esther, Maccabees – one and two!

 

The Wisdom Books (to the tune of “Oh My Darlin’Clementine”)

The wisdom books

The wisdom books

The wisdom books – there are seven

Reading Job, Psalms and Proverbs

Will help you get to heaven!

Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs

Wisdom and Sirach!

Sing the books of Wisdom

They will make you really smart!

 

The Prophecy books (to the tune of “Sing a Song of SIxpence”)

Sing a song of prophecy

Isaiah, Jeremiah

Next comes Lamentations

Baruch and *EZ Kyle

Daniel, Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah

Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk and *Zephani

Haggai’s in the field digging muddy pits

*Zachari and Malachi have got a lot of zits!

 

(Sometimes a little bit of silliness helps peak interest without being irreverent.)

*Chronicles, Ezekiel, Zephaniah, Zachariah

 

The Apostle Song (to the tune of “Happy Birthday to You”)

Peter, Simon, Matthew

Andrew, James times two*

Philip, John, Bartholomew

Judas, Thomas and Jude*

 

*There were two apostles with the name James.

*Jude was also known as Thaddeus.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

